Romania and Bulgaria have been excluded from the area of Europe that does not require a passport for travel.

The three countries’ admission into the so-called Schengen zone, a deal between nations to do away with border checks for people traveling between their territories, was the subject of a vote today among EU member states.

The 26 Schengen member nations voted unanimously in favor of Croatia. Austria, however, refused to allow Romania and Bulgaria through, alleging a lack of readiness.

Romania’s proposal was backed by the Netherlands, but Bulgaria’s was rejected. Added time is necessary. Currently, there are 75,000 unregistered illegal immigrants living in Austria; these individuals entered Austria over an external EU border.

Initially, this must be resolved. At the beginning of 2023, Croatia will likewise adopt the euro. If you’re considering visiting the nation next year, read on for important information.

In addition to Romania and Bulgaria, Croatia has been a member of the EU since 2013. However, none of them have been included in the Schengen area up to this point.

Consequently, even if traveling from a Schengen nation, a passport or identity card is now necessary to access these countries. There are almost 420 million people living in it at the moment among 26 nations, including 22 EU member states.

The border checks between Croatia and the other Schengen nations will be lifted as of January 1, 2023. It has taken more than ten years for confirmation to reach Romania and Bulgaria.

Due to what it claims are unresolved rule-of-law issues and awaiting legislation to combat organized crime and corruption, the Netherlands voted against Bulgaria’s membership application.

The resistance, according to Bulgaria, which has been under a caretaker administration since August, is unrelated to the Schengen requirements.

Two member states voiced their concerns, although they don’t have any special issues with Schengen relations. They noted that their nation was prepared to take the “required efforts” to win over their doubting colleagues.

Visitors to Croatia should exchange their money because the kuna, the local currency, will still be accepted there until January 2019. At this time, one Croatian kuna is equivalent to around $0.13.

But Croatia will start utilizing the euro as of next year. The nation joins the group of 19 other nations that utilize money.